Change SQL from DataSetDesinger during Code

Change SQL from DataSetDesinger during Code

Postby Zero-G. » Sun 28 Jan 2007 09:51

Hey

I do use mySQLDirect.NET Version 3.50.15
I create my DataSet with the DataSet Designer. This works fine.
But, is there a possibility to change the Select Statement, because for finding some specific data in the DataBase? - Like Name

Example:
I create the DataBase with my whole data from the table person. - The table person has a relation to the table article. - The problem is, that there is so much data in both tables, that the communication to the server uses a too long time.
Now I want to specify my Select statement. - Like "Select * from person where ID=IDNumber"
Is this possible to do?

Hope you understand my problem. - THX
Zero-G.
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat 09 Dec 2006 12:20

Postby Alexey » Tue 30 Jan 2007 11:02

Yes, it is possible. You should press "Configure" button on the "Setup individual data tables" window of MySQLDirect .NET DataSet configuration wizard.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Postby Zero-G. » Tue 30 Jan 2007 11:46

Hey

THX - I found, what you mean. - But is there a working sample, which you can give to me? - I can not reproduce the way, how to do this. :oops:

THX
Zero-G.
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat 09 Dec 2006 12:20

Postby Alexey » Tue 30 Jan 2007 12:00

Working sample of what? Of the way to configure dataset creation?
Please refer to "Using DataSet Wizard" article of MySQLDirect .NET help documentation.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Postby Zero-G. » Tue 30 Jan 2007 12:19

I am sorry, but the help did not help enough...

Example, what I have to do:
I do use List & Label as well in my project. - L&L is a programm, similar to Crystal. - To use the tool, I have to hand over a DataSet with the specific data. - When I want to hand over a special Customer with a special ID, I have to add the ID into the select Statement during runtime.

Such a sample I want to see, how this can work. - Also how to work with the Update/Delete Command in such a situation.

Hope this explains better, what I need to do.

Yours faithfully
Zero-G.
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat 09 Dec 2006 12:20

Postby Alexey » Tue 30 Jan 2007 12:34

About how to add special ID into a select statement during runtime read "Using parameters" article.
For the information on how to work with datasets take a look at our DataSet sample project.
Hopefully this would help.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Postby Zero-G. » Tue 30 Jan 2007 12:59

W O W !!!!

THX! - I found, what I was looking for! - Thanks a lot!
Works fine!!!!!!!!!!!

Yours faitfhully
Zero-G.
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat 09 Dec 2006 12:20

Postby Alexey » Tue 30 Jan 2007 13:07

You are welcome.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43


Return to dotConnect for MySQL