MYSQLDIRECT.NET and Visual Studio .NET 2005

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for MySQL
Post Reply
fumstead
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 04 Aug 2006 12:25
Contact:

MYSQLDIRECT.NET and Visual Studio .NET 2005

Post by fumstead » Fri 04 Aug 2006 12:33

I implement MySql sub queries with the Table Adapter and the Query Builder in Visual Studio .NET 2005.

Is there any settings or confirguration needed to change the functionality?

I am using the following versions:

mysql Ver 14.12 Distrib 5.0.22, for Win32 (ia32)

Connection id: 2
Current database:
Current user: ODBC@localhost
SSL: Not in use
Using delimiter: ;
Server version: 5.0.22-community-nt
Protocol version: 10
Connection: localhost via TCP/IP
Server characterset: latin1
Db characterset: latin1
Client characterset: latin1
Conn. characterset: latin1
TCP port: 3306

MySQLDirect .NET Data Provider 3.50.11 03.07.06

Visual Studios .NET 2005 Team Systems

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Fri 04 Aug 2006 12:42

Please describe what exactly you need or what is the problem.

Guest

Post by Guest » Sat 05 Aug 2006 00:21

WHen I plac ehte following SQL query in the TableAdapter or the Query Builder, I receive a parser error message.

Does the MySql Table Adapter or Query Builder allow the ability to parser sub queries like the following example?

SELECT ProductID, ProductName, SupplierID, CategoryID,
QuantityPerUnit, UnitPrice, UnitsInStock, UnitsOnOrder, ReorderLevel, Discontinued,
(SELECT CategoryName FROM Categories
WHERE Categories.CategoryID = Products.CategoryID) as CategoryName,
(SELECT CompanyName FROM Suppliers
WHERE Suppliers.SupplierID = Products.SupplierID) as SupplierName
FROM Products

Serious

Post by Serious » Mon 07 Aug 2006 09:34

We tested query

Code: Select all

select ename, (select dname from dept where deptno=emp.deptno) as dname from emp
It is unable to use this query with CS2005 Configuration Wizard, but you can create Table Adapters with DataSet Wizard.

Note that we found a problem in DataSet Wizard: when creating Table Adapter columns in the table are not generated. This problem will be fixed in the next build, which become available in a few days. To avoid this problem in current version just press "Configure" on created Table Adapter, columns will be generated.

fumstead
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 04 Aug 2006 12:25
Contact:

Post by fumstead » Thu 10 Aug 2006 01:57

Do you have an ETA on the next build?

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Wed 16 Aug 2006 10:15

We are going to make a new build today.

fumstead
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri 04 Aug 2006 12:25
Contact:

Trial period expired

Post by fumstead » Wed 18 Oct 2006 19:40

The new build from the last port did not resolve the issue. I uninstalled all trial software and purge the registry. I attempt to try the latest build on the website and I can not because it states I have exceeded the time limit.

Is there a way to find out if the latest version supports the creation of subqueries with the query builder of the datatableadapter using your product?

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Thu 19 Oct 2006 06:34

The new build from the last port did not resolve the issue.
Why did you decide that new build did not resolve the problem if you even could not run it?
I uninstalled all trial software and purge the registry.
You shouldn't have purged the registry. That's why our assembly swears about expiring. Apply to support team by e-mail (support at crlab dot com) to get another trial version.

Post Reply