Created database with 'Componet Designer' view but data controls can't see?

Created database with 'Componet Designer' view but data controls can't see?

Postby davidkennedy » Thu 27 Jul 2006 23:44

I swear if I could find a working example of your components in a simple ASP application I'd at least have some hope of struggling through this. I found that your Dataset Wizard only creates .xsd files which I can't figure out how one could use?
Next, I am manually able to put components onto a form in Component Designer view and hook these up fine. Then I try to use a data control on the same form (in designer view) and they can never see the data source from the MySQL dbExplorer.
Does someone have a simple ASP application that might show how this is all put together?
Thank you,
David Kennedy
davidkennedy
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri 07 Jul 2006 16:21

Postby Alexey » Fri 28 Jul 2006 12:35

I could find a working example of your components in a simple ASP application...

There are two of our web projects in "%:\Program Files\CoreLab\MySQLDirect.NET2\Samples\".
I can't figure out how one could use .xsd files

You can use dataset created with Dataset Wizard by adding one to your form.
data source from the MySQL dbExplorer

These are different concepts. There is no data source in dbExplorer.

I think you should specify what exactly you need and we will try to do our best.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Similar problem

Postby R. Santana » Wed 22 Nov 2006 19:23

I've a new web app in VS2005 .net 2.0 when I add a DataAdapter to Component Designer view of an ASPX page everything goes right. The problem is when I use DataSet Wizard, on the final step it gives me an error: "Cannot add Dataset to form. Error while loading type." DataSet is generated dsTest.xsd but there's nothing that I can do with that.

I'm using the latest version.

Please help.

Thanks
R. Santana
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2005 20:52
Location: SPAIN

Postby Alexey » Thu 23 Nov 2006 08:23

This issue occurs only when you trying to add a dataset onto a web form.
In the next build we will remove appropriate checkbox from the latest wizard window, so that a user won't have a possibility to try to add the dataset onto a web form.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Postby R. Santana » Thu 23 Nov 2006 08:26

OK, I understand, but If I can't add a DataSet to designer how can I Bind properties to components? I need a solution.
R. Santana
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2005 20:52
Location: SPAIN

Postby Alexey » Thu 23 Nov 2006 08:45

You can add a DataSet to designer by dropping a DataSet component from the toolbox onto your form.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Postby R. Santana » Thu 23 Nov 2006 09:25

But the DataSets doesn't appear on the ToolBox
R. Santana
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2005 20:52
Location: SPAIN

Postby Alexey » Thu 23 Nov 2006 09:32

DataSet component is a standard VS component. It exists on Data tab. Please check.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Postby R. Santana » Thu 23 Nov 2006 09:42

Yes I know, but when I Add a DataSet to my designer the popup says that there's no defined typed DataSets in my project.
R. Santana
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2005 20:52
Location: SPAIN

Postby Alexey » Thu 23 Nov 2006 09:50

You should have moved created dataset into App_Code folder first.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Postby R. Santana » Thu 23 Nov 2006 09:51

OK. Thank you. I'll try.
R. Santana
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue 18 Jan 2005 20:52
Location: SPAIN

Postby Alexey » Thu 23 Nov 2006 10:21

You are welcome.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43


Return to dotConnect for MySQL