HasRows bug in CoreLab

HasRows bug in CoreLab

Postby JvanDorsten » Fri 14 Jul 2006 06:28

Hello,

I found that the HasRows property of the dbDataReader behaves different for CoreLab than for the SQL Or OleDb Client.

When i execute the following code:
Code: Select all
    While mvrDbDatareader.Read
      'Do something
    End While

    MsgBox(mvrDbDatareader.HasRows)

CoreLab displays false, while SQL and OleDB display True.
JvanDorsten
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 03 Jan 2006 15:59

Postby Alexey » Fri 14 Jul 2006 07:01

We are investigating this problem. You will be notified on results as soon as possible.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Postby Serious » Mon 07 Aug 2006 12:09

According to MySQLDirect .NET documentation HasRows property indicates whether the MySqlDataReader contains one or more rows. When all rows are proceeded using Read() method no rows are available in the current result set, so this property returns false.
Serious
 

Postby JvanDorsten » Mon 07 Aug 2006 13:22

I thought something like that, but i think that corelab should respond the same way that ADO.NET does.

in this case there is a difference, so it can not be used in the same way as ADO.NET.

On the ADO.NET Providers overview it says: "MySQLDirect .NET is data provider to direct access to MySQL database server for the Microsoft .NET Framework. It is completely based on ADO.NET technology. So it can be used in the same way as the standard ADO.NET data providers. "

This is not true in this case, thats why i reported it.
JvanDorsten
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue 03 Jan 2006 15:59

Postby Serious » Tue 08 Aug 2006 07:06

According to .NET Framework Data Provider for OLE DB documentation and .NET Framework Data Provider for SQL Server documentation this behavior is not defined well, it can be cleared up only experimentally.

We will update MySQLDirect .NET behavior and documentation to correspond to standard providers. This change will become available in the next build.
Serious
 


Return to dotConnect for MySQL