Visual Studio 2010 Error when adding a table to DSV

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for MySQL
Post Reply
dmariani
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu 26 May 2011 18:28
Contact:

Visual Studio 2010 Error when adding a table to DSV

Post by dmariani » Fri 13 Jan 2012 01:07

When adding a new table to my Data Source View (DSV) in VS 2010 (Business Intelligence Studio) I get an error. It's adding brackets ('[', ']') to the table name which is causing the syntax error.

Here's the call stack of the error:


===================================

You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '[exacttargetreport] limit 0,0' at line 2 (Microsoft Visual Studio)

------------------------------
Program Location:

at Devart.Data.MySql.bk.t()
at Devart.Data.MySql.bk.d()
at Devart.Data.MySql.u.a(af[]& A_0, Int32& A_1)
at Devart.Data.MySql.u.a(Byte[] A_0, Int32 A_1, Boolean A_2)
at Devart.Data.MySql.a2.e()
at Devart.Data.MySql.a2.o()
at Devart.Data.MySql.MySqlCommand.InternalExecute(CommandBehavior behavior, IDisposable stmt, Int32 startRecord, Int32 maxRecords)
at Devart.Common.DbCommandBase.InternalExecute(CommandBehavior behavior, IDisposable stmt, Int32 startRecord, Int32 maxRecords, Boolean nonQuery)
at Devart.Common.DbCommandBase.ExecuteDbDataReader(CommandBehavior behavior, Boolean nonQuery)
at Devart.Common.DbCommandBase.ExecuteDbDataReader(CommandBehavior behavior)
at System.Data.Common.DbCommand.ExecuteReader(CommandBehavior behavior)
at Microsoft.DataWarehouse.Design.DataSourceConnection.FillDataSet(DataSet dataSet, String schemaName, String tableName, String tableType)
at Microsoft.AnalysisServices.Design.DataSourceDesigner.AddRemoveObjectsFromDSV()

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Tue 17 Jan 2012 14:28

dmariani wrote:When adding a new table to my Data Source View (DSV) in VS 2010 (Business Intelligence Studio) I get an error.
Please refer to http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms173767.aspx:
Microsoft Visual Studio 2010 does not support Business Intelligence Development Studio Integration Services, Report Services and Analysis Services projects for SQL Server 2008 and SQL Server 2008 R2. To work around this issue, you can install Visual Studio 2008 alongside Visual Studio 2010 on the same machine and then open the Business Intelligence Development Studio projects in Visual Studio 2008.
1. Are you using SSAS 2005 or SSAS 2008?
2. Is your IDE Visual Studio 2008?
3. Tell us the exact version (x.xx.xxx) of your dotConnect for MySQL.
4. Which exact steps should we follow to reproduce the issue in our environment?
5. Did the Devart.Data.MySql.xsl file and instructions how to use it help you (http://www.devart.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=18233)?

I added a new table to my Data Source View in Analysis Services Project in Visual Studio 2008, right click on the table > Explore Data -> it works without errors.

dmariani
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu 26 May 2011 18:28
Contact:

Post by dmariani » Wed 18 Jan 2012 00:54

I am using SQL Server 2012 RC0 (SSAS 2012). This version only supports Visual Studio 2010 for BI Studio. So, technically, it's not a released product yet so that's probably the issue. MSFT will be releasing SQL Server 2012 soon, though.

1. Are you using SSAS 2005 or SSAS 2008?
I am using SQL Server 2012 RC0 (SSAS 2012)

2. Is your IDE Visual Studio 2008?
I am using Visual Studio 2010 (which comes with SQL Server 2012)

3. Tell us the exact version (x.xx.xxx) of your dotConnect for MySQL.
6.50.214.0

4. Which exact steps should we follow to reproduce the issue in our environment?
1. Install SQL Server 2012 RC0 (or RC1)
2. Install MySql Windows v5.5.11
3. Install DotConnect for MySql 6.50.214.0
4. Open Visual Studio 2010, create a new cube, create a new DSV, try to add a MySql table to the data source view (DSV)

5. Did the Devart.Data.MySql.xsl file and instructions how to use it help you
No. I did follow the directions and this worked for my using SQL Server 2008 R2

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Wed 18 Jan 2012 11:34

We support only official releases of BIS. We will implement the SSAS 2012 support when its RTM version is available in public.

Post Reply