Failed to find or load the registered .Net Framework Data P

Failed to find or load the registered .Net Framework Data P

Postby jet346t » Mon 22 Sep 2008 16:38

I recently got a new computer and installed VS2005 and MyDirect.NET v4.50pro2. When I open my project and try to edit a query in a dataset by:
--Selecting the query
--Going to Properties
--Clicking on the "..." beside CommandText

I get the following error:

Failed to find or load the registered .Net Framework Data Provider

I have tried the following things already:
--Repair VS2005 Install
--Reinstall MyDirect 4.50
--Install latest MyDirect version from this site

There is an entry in the machine.config for the provider that references the proper version.

Everything works fine on the old machine with the same software setup. The new computer is an AMD Athlon 64 x2 Dual @ 2.60 Ghz with Windows XP Pro SP3
jet346t
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon 22 Sep 2008 16:13

Postby Shalex » Thu 25 Sep 2008 14:30

Please try to create a new connection in Server Explorer using MyDirect .NET provider and notify us about results.
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7781
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Postby jet346t » Fri 26 Sep 2008 13:31

I was able to create the connection in Server Explorer. I can browse the tables and data from the Explorer.

But I still get the same error when I try to edit the queries in a dataset.
jet346t
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon 22 Sep 2008 16:13

Postby jet346t » Mon 29 Sep 2008 12:21

This also happens when I try to add a column to a dataset by Right Click, Add, Column.
jet346t
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon 22 Sep 2008 16:13

Postby Shalex » Tue 30 Sep 2008 12:26

Try adding a new DataSet to your project in this way: right click on the project in the Solution Explorer Add | New Item | DataSet. Tell us please, are you able to edit the DataSet created in this way?
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7781
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Postby jet346t » Wed 01 Oct 2008 12:47

I am able to create a new DataSet and add queries and columns to it. But I get the same message when trying to edit one of the previously added queries or when trying to preview data.
jet346t
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon 22 Sep 2008 16:13

Postby Shalex » Thu 02 Oct 2008 12:33

We recommend you to open your previously created DataSet1.xsd file and newly created DataSet2.xsd file (of DataSet that works correctly) with XML editor. Compare its content. Probably, you will find the difference and the reason of incorrect work. For example, pay attention to the Connection tags. There can be set a provider that you are not using now. In this case just remove it.
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7781
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Postby jet346t » Thu 02 Oct 2008 13:42

The newly created dataset doesn't work completely. Once I add a query to it I can't edit that query or preview the data from it. I can only add queries without getting the error message.
jet346t
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon 22 Sep 2008 16:13

Postby Shalex » Thu 02 Oct 2008 14:59

Please try creating a new DataSet in a new project. Check all the connections in your Server Explorer, they all must be valid. Notify us on the results.
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7781
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Postby jet346t » Mon 06 Oct 2008 13:09

I created a new project and tested the connection in Server Explorer and it passed. If I do a Right Click > View Table Data in Server Explorer it returns the data.

When I drag a table on to the DataSet I get the following error:

"Some updating commands could not be generated automatically. The database returned the following error:

Failed to find or load the registered .Net Framework Data Provider."
jet346t
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon 22 Sep 2008 16:13

Postby Shalex » Tue 07 Oct 2008 16:27

Make sure that all connections in your Server explorer are valid. If some connections are invalid - remove them.
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7781
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Postby jet346t » Tue 07 Oct 2008 16:57

There is only one connection and it is valid...
jet346t
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon 22 Sep 2008 16:13

Postby Shalex » Fri 10 Oct 2008 11:55

We cannot reproduce the problem even on x64 machine configuration. We recommend you the following:
1. Remove all the connections from Server Explorer.
2. Press the "Connection to Database" button in Server Explorer.
3. Press the "Change..." button in the "Add connection" window.
4. Check all your data providers registered there. Are they all valid? Please send me (alexsh at devart.com) screenshot that shows all the data providers.

I'm sending you screenshot to show what I mean.
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7781
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44


Return to dotConnect for MySQL