Configuration Error - all at once !! HELP (pleeeze)

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for MySQL
Cody21

Configuration Error - all at once !! HELP (pleeeze)

Post by Cody21 » Sat 28 Jun 2008 23:32

This is absolutely bazaar - makes no sense whatsoever. This has been running perfectly for over a year. I made absolutely NO changes to my WEB.CONFIG file in over 7 months. All at once, we are getting this Configuration Error whenever anyone accesses my site. When I delete the Web.Config file, I can access the site just fine, but of course I have no security.

I'm by no means an expert and haven't messes with this MySqlDirect.Net stuff in a looooong time ... hence why I never embarked on attempting the upgrade headaches to 4.x ...

Can someone provide me some direction as to what might be causing this all-at-once error ????? All of my users are now unable to access the site..... Thanks...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Configuration Error
Description: An error occurred during the processing of a configuration file required to service this request. Please review the specific error details below and modify your configuration file appropriately.

Parser Error Message: The connection name 'LocalSqlServer' was not found in the applications configuration or the connection string is empty.

Source Error:

Line 146:
Line 147:
Line 148:
Line 149:
Line 150:

Source File: C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\Config\machine.config Line: 148

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Version Information: Microsoft .NET Framework Version:2.0.50727.1433; ASP.NET Version:2.0.50727.1433

pleb

Post by pleb » Sun 29 Jun 2008 08:46

You need to add a connection string named "LocalSqlServer".

Code: Select all

Probably what's happened is that someone has played with the .net settings using the IIS configuration manager? Sound like someone you know?