Multiple Versions of MyDirect on Same Server?

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for MySQL
lgriffin

Multiple Versions of MyDirect on Same Server?

Post by lgriffin » Wed 30 Jan 2008 21:45

Hi,

I have version 3.5 running on my server with about 20 sites using that version. I just upgraded to version 4.3 yesterday ( 1/30/08 ). When i load up Visual Studio and add 4.3 to the web.config, I'm getting the following error:

Compiler Error Message: BC30560: 'MySqlDataAdapter' is ambiguous in the namespace 'CoreLab.MySql'.

I'm not an expert, but I'm guessing that since version 3.5 is installed in the GAC, the new version is having some sort of conflict. So my question is this:

Can i keep both versions on the server ( for all those sites that are running 3.5, and create new sites with 4.3? ) If so, how ?

Alexey.mdr

Post by Alexey.mdr » Thu 31 Jan 2008 09:48

You can keep both versions on the server, but you need either to delete the policy file or to store needed libraries in the bin folder (not in GAC).

lgriffin

Post by lgriffin » Thu 31 Jan 2008 12:59

How does one "delete the policy file" ?

lgriffin

machine.config

Post by lgriffin » Thu 31 Jan 2008 13:06

Do these entries in the macine.config have any impact on the "ambiguous" statement?

lgriffin

One more thing

Post by lgriffin » Thu 31 Jan 2008 13:44

Oh one more thing,

I can't delete the machine.config file itself if that's what you mean by the "policy file" because there's other global settings stored in there that i need.

lgriffin

Adding .dll to Bin Folder

Post by lgriffin » Thu 31 Jan 2008 14:01

Okay,

Adding the appropriate .dll to the bin folder seems to be working for me, thanks for that. Now i have one more problem for you :)

In Visual Studio 2008, if i goto the App_Code folder, try to add a new Dataset.xsd, then select "Query Builder", i get the following error:

"Value cannot be null. Parameter name: connection"