Problem Updating, Deleting and Inserting

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for MySQL
alexh

Problem Updating, Deleting and Inserting

Post by alexh » Fri 29 Jun 2007 23:06

I am a PHP developer, previously with Java experience, who is now venturing on to C# with VS5 ... and I'm eager to get your program working.

I have read the forums extensively, as well as am in the middle of 2 C# ASP.NET programming books, and am still running into lots of errors.

I have properly updated the UpdateCommand but no matter what it seems to fail when I try to submit the updates, regardless if in gridview or detailview.

A common error I'm getting is:

Code: Select all

'price' parameter is missing at the statement 
I am trying this with the simplest of statements trying to figure out where I am going wrong. I am usuing the visual designer to construct everything, and the select statements are coming up just fine.

Even with simple code I have problems

Untitled Page

"
        ProviderName="" SelectCommand="SELECT `item_id`, `description`, `retail`, `price`, `special` FROM `auction_items`" UpdateCommand="UPDATE auction_items SET price = ?, special = ? WHERE item_id = ? "> 

This is just one variation. I have attempted to many that it is rather exhausting and difficult for me to tell you at this point.

The parameter issue is the common problem I am having though. At first I was doing my UpdateCommand statements with SET name=@name type queries, but that wasn't working. I then switched to the question marks after reading a simlar thread, but am still having no luck.

- I am looking to a simple guide for C# users to make the simplest updates, deletions and inserts. Can you please e-mail or PM me this information.

- Any ideas as to what I am doing wrong at this point?