SqlDataSource and VS2005

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
achib
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 06 Oct 2005 11:23

SqlDataSource and VS2005

Post by achib » Tue 20 Feb 2007 10:16

Hi!

I created a new web progect, drop SqlDataSource on the aspx form, Configure Data Source->New Connection... and got error:
An unexpected error occurred in the .NET Framework Data Provider for Oracle. Please contact the provider vendor to resolve this problem.
Configuration: Windows XP SP2, VS 2005 SP1,Oracle client 8.0.6

achib
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 06 Oct 2005 11:23

Post by achib » Tue 20 Feb 2007 10:17

and OraDirect 3.55.19

achib
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 06 Oct 2005 11:23

Post by achib » Tue 20 Feb 2007 11:07

And when i try to add a new connection in the VS2005 server exporer i got the same error. I checked on my test PC where installed VS2005 SP1 and got the same error. But i remember the server explorer worked properly with OraDirect. I think this error and SP1 for VS2005 are connected.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Tue 20 Feb 2007 12:19

Try to reproduce this problem having OraDirect .NET uninstalled.

achib
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 06 Oct 2005 11:23

Post by achib » Tue 20 Feb 2007 12:25

when i uninstalled OraDirect Server Explorer works properly, i can add a new database connection.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Wed 21 Feb 2007 06:59

Please use another instance of VS IDE to attach to the first instance and find out what is the root cause of the problem.

achib
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 06 Oct 2005 11:23

Post by achib » Wed 21 Feb 2007 08:50

I did as you wrote, but in the second instance IDE, doesn't break, when in the first instance exception occurs.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Wed 21 Feb 2007 09:01

Make sure that you have "Common Language Runtime Exceptions" checkbox (in the Debug --> Exceptions menu item of the second IDE) ticked.

achib
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 06 Oct 2005 11:23

Post by achib » Wed 21 Feb 2007 09:49

I've all checked but the result the same how i wrote above, only message box with error.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Wed 21 Feb 2007 10:50

Also make sure that "Enable Just My Code" from "Tools --> Options --> Debugging" is unchecked.

achib
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 06 Oct 2005 11:23

Post by achib » Wed 21 Feb 2007 11:20

A first chance exception of type
'Microsoft.VisualStudio.Data.DataProviderException' occured in
Microsoft.VisualStudio.DataTools.dll

Additional information: An unexpected error ocuured in the .NET Framework Data Provider for Oracle. Please contact the provider vendor to resolve this problem.

Address: Microsoft.VisualStudio.DataTools.DataServices.DataProvider.ProviderObjectFactory.get
...
0000036e call 6A94EAC4
->00000373 mov eax,dword ptr [ebp-64h]
00000376 mov eax,dword ptr [eax+1Ch]
...

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Wed 21 Feb 2007 11:42

Do the following:
1. Run "devenv /resetskippkgs"
2. Run another instance of IDE and attach to the first one as you did before.
3. Try to raise the error.
4. Let me know the results (error messages, etc.).

achib
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu 06 Oct 2005 11:23

Post by achib » Wed 21 Feb 2007 12:30

When I run IDE with key /resetskippkgs the error disappeared and now when i run IDE as usual without keys Server Expoler in IDE works OK.

I think when i installed SP1 something wrong was happend with CoreLab because i have the same problem on my test PC with Vista and VS2005 SP1 and CoreLab reinstallation doesn't fix the error only you advice to run IDE with key /resetskippkgs fix it.

Thanks for your help!

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Wed 21 Feb 2007 12:56

Well done.
P.S. Actually, the error message
An unexpected error ocuured in the .NET Framework Data Provider for Oracle. Please contact the provider vendor to resolve this problem.
doesn't pertain to OraDirect .NET. I just wonder why removing OraDirect .NET solves the problem. Maybe you are right that SP1 installation could spoil something.
Anyway, the problem is resolved now and we have nothing to worry about.

[email protected]
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed 25 Jul 2007 12:50

Post by [email protected] » Wed 25 Jul 2007 12:59

I have the same problem. When I installed ODT it worked for some time. But for some mystic reasons it stopped working, and now I get an error:

Package 'Oracle Developer Tools for Visual Studio .NET' has failed to load properly ( GUID = {D601BB95-E404-4A8E-9F24-5C1A462426CE} ). Please contact package vendor for assistance. Application restart is recommended, due to possible environment corruption. Would you like to disable loading this package in the future? You may use 'devenv /resetskippkgs' to re-enable package loading.

I attached another instance of VS for debugging and it catches the exception:

System.DllNotFoundException occurred
Message="Unable to load DLL 'oravslangsvc11w.dll': The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)"
Source="Oracle.VsDevTools"
TypeName=""
StackTrace:
at Oracle.VsDevTools.OracleSVCLangService.InitOracleLangServicePkg(IntPtr provider, String guid, IntPtr& langSvcCtx)
at Oracle.VsDevTools.OracleVSGPkg.Microsoft.VisualStudio.Shell.Interop.IVsPackage.SetSite(IServiceProvider psp)

Post Reply