Package Load Failure hotfix - doesnt work

Package Load Failure hotfix - doesnt work

Postby kevinherring » Thu 01 Feb 2007 10:19

Hi
I am using vs2005 with oradirect 3.55.16.0. When I try to create a new datasource in the design environment I get a package load failure error.

I have tried the hotfix mentioned here:
http://www.crlab.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=8486
however this doesnt work as I still get the same error.

I also tried changing 3.50 to 3.55 in the reg file, to no avail, and also rebooting my entire machine.

Please advise.
Kevin
kevinherring
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2006 15:32

Postby Alexey » Thu 01 Feb 2007 12:47

Try to use the latest version of OraDirect .NET.
This problem should be absent in it.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Postby kevinherring » Thu 01 Feb 2007 13:21

thanks Alexey, I'll give it a go.
kevinherring
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2006 15:32

Postby Alexey » Thu 01 Feb 2007 13:39

Not at all.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Postby kevinherring » Wed 14 Mar 2007 12:41

Hi
I have downloaded 3.55.19 and this error is still happening. When 3.55.16 was uninstalled it complained about not being able to interact with Visual Studio 8 (or something like that, I didn't do it), but continued anyway.

I have installed the drivers into the default location and also copied them into a directory we have containing all our dlls. My project references the copy in this folder.

I really need this to work as I need to create a data source of a large table.
Thanks
Kevin
kevinherring
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2006 15:32

Postby Alexey » Wed 14 Mar 2007 12:59

Try to run "devenv /setup" and "devenv /resetskippkgs" commands.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Postby kevinherring » Wed 14 Mar 2007 13:03

wahoo! That worked, thanks a million for your prompt reply.
kevinherring
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2006 15:32

Postby Alexey » Wed 14 Mar 2007 13:07

You're welcome:)
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Postby kevinherring » Wed 14 Mar 2007 13:23

hmmm, how do I create a datasource from a procedure that exists within a package?

When I select new datasource, I create the connection and then it gives me the choice between creating a datasource from tables, views, stored procs and functions, but no packages. I am guessing that this is because it is designed with SQL server in mind, which has no notion of packages.

I know there is the package wizard, but what I am trying to do is create a datasource from a package procedure that returns an oracle cursor. Is this possible?
kevinherring
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2006 15:32

Postby kevinherring » Wed 14 Mar 2007 16:28

apparently it isnt really possible:
http://forums.oracle.com/forums/thread.jspa?messageID=1297838

bloody microsoft.
kevinherring
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2006 15:32

Postby Alexey » Thu 15 Mar 2007 08:17

We are working on this problem, actually. Hopefully, this functionality will be implemented in the release of OraDirect .NET 4.0.
P.S. Please create a new thread for a new problem next time.
Alexey
 
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43


Return to dotConnect for Oracle