exception with no message? Very helpful.

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
kevinherring
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2006 15:32

exception with no message? Very helpful.

Post by kevinherring » Thu 26 Oct 2006 15:06

I am using the command object in a threadpool. I have an threadpoolitem class, each instance of the class has its own command object and connection (using connection pooling).


when I call command.ExecuteNonQuery I occasionally get the following exception:

Code: Select all

   at CoreLab.Oracle.OracleUtils.a(String A_0)
   at CoreLab.Oracle.OracleDataReader.c()
   at CoreLab.Oracle.OracleDataReader..ctor(a4 A_0, a4[] A_1, OracleConnection A_2, CommandBehavior A_3, Int32 A_4, Int32 A_5, Int32 A_6)
   at CoreLab.Oracle.OracleDataReader..ctor(a4 A_0, a4[] A_1, OracleConnection A_2, CommandBehavior A_3, Int32 A_4, Int32 A_5)
   at CoreLab.Oracle.OracleCommand.a(CommandBehavior A_0, IDisposable A_1, Int32 A_2, Int32 A_3)
   at CoreLab.Common.DbCommandBase.b(CommandBehavior A_0)
   at CoreLab.Common.DbCommand.ExecuteReader()
   at CoreLab.Common.DbCommandBase.ExecuteNonQuery()
it is an InvalidOperationException, but it has no message, inner exception or anything that indicates what is wrong.

Unfortunately I cant give you a sample project as the bug is quite intermitent.

Any ideas what could be causing this?

But my main question is why the hell is it raising exceptions with no message???

kevinherring
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2006 15:32

Post by kevinherring » Thu 26 Oct 2006 15:14

right i have fixed my error. i was using command.clone for each poolitem, but it wasnt duplicating the connection, so it was the same for all the commands. Anyway, that aside the second question still stands.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Fri 27 Oct 2006 06:19

To answer your main question we definitely need your project or at least the piece of code where the error occurs.

kevinherring
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2006 15:32

Post by kevinherring » Fri 27 Oct 2006 07:36

yeah i dont think that would really help as it is not easily repeatable (its very intermittent and only happens maybe 10% of the time). oh well, at least I have fixed the bug.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Fri 27 Oct 2006 09:53

its very intermittent and only happens maybe 10% of the time
Then, it seems to be not our driver problem.

kevinherring
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2006 15:32

Post by kevinherring » Fri 27 Oct 2006 10:04

yes, as we established there was a problem my code which was why the bug was happening.

However, the stacktrace indicates that the exception was raised from somewhere in your code, so I am still interested in why your code is raising exceptions with no message.

Can you not tell from the stacktrace, where the exception was raised from?

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Fri 27 Oct 2006 15:43

The problem is in defining the version of your Oracle server. What version of server do you have?
Send us OracleSesion.ServerVersion value.

kevinherring
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2006 15:32

Post by kevinherring » Fri 27 Oct 2006 15:47

Oracle9i Enterprise Edition Release 9.2.0.2.0 - 64bit Production
With the Partitioning, OLAP and Oracle Data Mining options
JServer Release 9.2.0.2.0 - Production
and I am using version 3.50.11.0 of the driver

Paul
Posts: 725
Joined: Thu 28 Oct 2004 14:06

Post by Paul » Fri 27 Oct 2006 15:56

Please send use the value of OracleConnection.ServerVersion propery

kevinherring
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed 04 Jan 2006 15:32

Post by kevinherring » Fri 27 Oct 2006 15:57

already done.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Tue 31 Oct 2006 08:00

We are investigating this problem.
You will be notified on results as soon as possible.

Paul
Posts: 725
Joined: Thu 28 Oct 2004 14:06

Post by Paul » Tue 31 Oct 2006 15:54

Can you check OracleConnection.State if it is opened when exception occured (see Connection property of executed command). Please check value of OracleConnection.ServerVersion at that moment in debugger.

Post Reply