OraDirect CommandBuildder appending "PUBLIC" schema to DataTable names

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
VinnySem
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu 14 Sep 2006 18:03

OraDirect CommandBuildder appending "PUBLIC" schema to DataTable names

Post by VinnySem » Thu 14 Sep 2006 18:28

I am testing the OraDirect data proivider 3.5 and components for use in our enterprise applications as a replacement for ODP.NET. In Oracle, we create synonyms for the tables with just the table name, and use the synonyms in our SQL statements. When using the OraDirect OracleCommandBuilder to create the Insert, Update, and Delete statements, "PUBLIC." is inserted as a prefix to the table name. The CommandBuilder-generated commands fail with "Table or View does not exist" errors.

Example:
Our select statement is as follows:
select * from CUST_ACCOUNTS where CUST_ID = 'SIK17776'

The CommandBuilder creates this delete statment:
delete from PUBLIC.CUST_ACCOUNTS where CUST_ID = 'SIK17776'

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Fri 15 Sep 2006 08:43

PUBLIC is the name of your schema. It seems that the table CUST_ACCOUNTS doesn't exist.

VinnySem
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu 14 Sep 2006 18:03

Post by VinnySem » Fri 15 Sep 2006 12:53

PUBLIC is NOT the name of the schema. Our SQL does not refer to any schema, we reference a synonym which does not have a schema defined in it. The OraDirect CommandBuilder is adding an arbitrary schema name where one does not exist.

As a point of reference the Oracle ODP.NET CommandBuilder does not exhibit this behavior.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Mon 18 Sep 2006 07:26

OK, i see. We are investigating this problem. You will be notified on results as soon as possible.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Thu 21 Sep 2006 09:32

This problem is fixed. Look forward to the next build which is coming out soon.

Post Reply