Problem loading Oracle client

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
AR Mentor (OraDirect 2.5)

Problem loading Oracle client

Post by AR Mentor (OraDirect 2.5) » Wed 23 Feb 2005 15:47

Hello,
I have a problem when connecting to Oracle (ASP.NET, OraDirect 2.5). I get the error "Can not load Oracle client. Check your PATH environment variable and registry settings."
I did check my PATH enviroment variables and it is the first and it is set to the Oracle home /bin (C:/oracle/ora92/bin). What registry settings are requested? Am I doing something else wrong? Thanks in advance. AR Mentor

Oleg
Devart Team
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu 28 Oct 2004 13:56

Post by Oleg » Sat 05 Mar 2005 15:23

You may solve the problem if read this topic
http://www.error-bank.com/microsoft.pub ... hread.aspx
Or send us a value of your environment variable PATH, and registry key
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ORACLE.

ronak
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 09 May 2006 20:08

We are facing the same problem and the link is no longer working

Post by ronak » Tue 09 May 2006 20:10

Hello,

We are also facing the same problem and the link is currently not working.

Any help will be highly appreciated.

Thanks and regards,
Ronak.

Paul
Posts: 725
Joined: Thu 28 Oct 2004 14:06

Post by Paul » Wed 10 May 2006 07:18

Oracle client can not load some libraries. Please check that the path to oci.dll is included to your PATH environment variable and it is the first. Check that your site have rights to load unmanaged libraries.

ronak
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 09 May 2006 20:08

That did not work

Post by ronak » Wed 10 May 2006 13:07

The PATH environment variable and it is the first and is set properly.

The site has rights to load unmanaged libraries.

I can connect to the oracle database using the following

1. SQL Plus
2. PL SQL developer
3. CoreLab connection object in design time.

Despite of the above whenever I try to run any page that connects to the database it errors out with the following message.

Can not load Oracle client. Check your PATH environment variable and registry settings.

Please help.

Regards,
Ronak.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Thu 18 May 2006 12:56

Check all your permissions.
Try to set OracleHome explicitly in the ConnectionString.
Which version of Oracle Client do you use? Don't you use Instant client?

george_zhu
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri 10 Mar 2006 09:53

Post by george_zhu » Tue 30 May 2006 05:35

hi, I have the same problem now. I debug deep into the code, and found
an exception throw here:

Code: Select all

              public void Open()

                {

                        try

                        {

                                _connection.Open(); //the type of _connection is      

                                                    //CoreLab.Oracle.OracleConnection

                        }

                        catch (OracleException e)

                        {

                                throw new TBException(e);

                        }

                }
content of exception: Can not load Oracle client. Check your PATH environment variable and registry settings

then I checked my path environment variable which seems okay:
C:\Oracle\product\10.1.0\Client_3\bin;C:\Oracle\product\10.1.0\Client_3\jre\1.4.2\bin\client;C:\Oracle\product\10.1.0\Client_3\jre\1.4.2\bin;c:\Program Files\Topobase3\bin;%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem;C:\Program Files\Support Tools\;C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\ATI Control Panel;C:\Program Files\Perforce;c:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\90\Tools\binn\;C:\Program Files\Autodesk\MapGuideServer6.5\Bin\;C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk Shared\

and also i checked registry settings, because I can run this on my VMware,
I compared these settings, but I find no difference.

I give full control to every one within C:\Oracle, but nothing changed.

I now use oracle 10.1.0 client, this drive me crazy, do you have any ideas? I just want to know which parameters CoreLab.Oracle.OracleConnection.Open() needs?

Thanks in advance.

AR mentor

Post by AR mentor » Tue 30 May 2006 21:03

This worked for me.
http://www.techieone.com/detail-9984456.html

Hope it will help.
AR.

Post Reply