trailing null missing from STR bind value Error

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
kulmam

trailing null missing from STR bind value Error

Post by kulmam » Mon 05 Jun 2006 08:22

I break the multi-lined text into single lines using following source and insert them into a table using array DML.
However I encounterd the error message at the bottom.
Can you help me out ?
I'm using Oracle 9i and it's charactor set is KO16KSC5601.

if( sSrc.Length > 4000 )
{
int nSeq = 1;
int nCursor = 0, j = 0 ;
char[] buff = sSrc.ToCharArray();
for( j=nCursor; j<sSrc.Length; j++ )
{
if( buff[j] == '\n' )
{
WorkItem workItem = new WorkItem();
workList.Add( workItem );
for( int i=0; i<reader.FieldCount; i++ )
{
int len = (j-nCursor) + 1;
if( i == 5 )
{
workItem.fieldValueList.Add( sSrc.Substring( nCursor, len ) );
}
else if( i == 1 )
{
workItem.fieldValueList.Add( nSeq.ToString() );
}
else
{
workItem.fieldValueList.Add( reader.ToString() );
}
}
nCursor = j+1;
nSeq++;
}
}

if( j == sSrc.Length )
{
int len = sSrc.Length - nCursor;
WorkItem workItem = new WorkItem();
workList.Add( workItem );
for( int i=0; i<reader.FieldCount; i++ )
{
if( i == 5 )
{
workItem.fieldValueList.Add( sSrc.Substring( nCursor, len ) );
}
else if( i == 1 )
{
workItem.fieldValueList.Add( nSeq.ToString() );
}
else
{
workItem.fieldValueList.Add( reader.ToString() );
}
}
}
}


Code : 24381, LineNumber : 0, LinePosition : 0, Message : ORA-24381: error(s) in array DML
2. Code : 1480, LineNumber : 0, LinePosition : 0, Message : ORA-01480: trailing null missing from STR bind value
3. Code : 3106, LineNumber : 0, LinePosition : 0, Message : ORA-03106: fatal two-task communication protocol error

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Tue 06 Jun 2006 07:24

Please send us small test project to reproduce the problem; include definition of your own database objects. Do not use third party components.

Alladin
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon 27 Nov 2006 16:18
Contact:

Post by Alladin » Mon 26 Jan 2009 17:07

Any results regarding this issue?

It seems that we are experiencing the same problem but with Euro encoding

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Tue 27 Jan 2009 11:48

Alladin, could you please provide us with the following information?
1. Version of dotConnect for Oracle. You can see it in Tools | Oracle | About menu of Visual Studio.
2. Version of your Oracle server and client you are using.
3. Version of your operating system.
4. A detailed problem description and the full text of the error you are getting.
5. Please send me (alexsh*devart*com) a small test project that reproduces the problem. Please include definitions of database objects and avoid using third-party components.

Alladin
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon 27 Nov 2006 16:18
Contact:

Post by Alladin » Thu 19 Feb 2009 12:58

We can easily reproduce this error on any database. This is definitely a bug.


1. It works only in Unicode mode.
2. It works only if command executed more than once.

I just send you the project to reproduce this bug.

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Mon 23 Feb 2009 11:24

The problem is fixed. Look forward to the next build of dotConnect for Oracle.

pedro.castelo
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue 24 Jun 2008 12:31

ORA-01480 on v4.75.43.0(Corelab.Oracle)

Post by pedro.castelo » Thu 04 Mar 2010 16:08

Hi,
I'm using the version 4.75.43.0 of CoreLab.oracle and I'm getting exactly same error..
The problem is that my subscription is over and I cannot download the corrected version. Is there any other way?

Kind regards,
Pedro

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Fri 05 Mar 2010 12:38

Please try the latest 5.60.102 trial version of dotConnect for Oracle to check if the problem is fixed. You can download it from our download page.

Post Reply