ExecuteArray Error. Iters must be greater than one.

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
MrTouya
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 08 May 2006 23:26

ExecuteArray Error. Iters must be greater than one.

Post by MrTouya » Mon 08 May 2006 23:28

Hi Guys,


I am executing an InsertCommand.ExecuteArray for about (100,000) records into an Oracle Express database. I keep getting the following error:


Iters must be greater than one.

Does the ExecuteArray have a size limit????

I have no idea what this means. Can you help me with this?


Thanks,



Stephane Touya



PS> I am using the oraDirect.net component

Paul
Posts: 725
Joined: Thu 28 Oct 2004 14:06

Post by Paul » Wed 10 May 2006 06:34

You have to pass parameter value greater than 1 to ExecuteArray function. Please see OraDirect .NET documentation and ExecuteArray sample project for how to use ExecuteArray function.

preisl
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 25 Dec 2006 14:19
Location: Austria
Contact:

Hmmm

Post by preisl » Wed 11 Jul 2007 09:16

Hello,

actually I think MrTouya is right, there probably is some (maybe unintentional) limit on ExecuteArray. I just tried to insert 271.530 values with one ExecuteArray Command (including 10 OracleParameters) and got the same "Iters must be greater than one" error. Then I found that thread and started to test further - with 100.000 records: same error. Then I splitted the 100.000 records into two halfs with succes: both halfs can be imported, so obviously, there's no problem with the data. My next guess was 2^16, but 65536 and 65535 didn't work ... it works for 65000, so the truth (for my test case) must be somewhere between 65000 and 65535.

btw. I'm using OraDirect 4.00.15 ...

best regards,

Martin

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Thu 12 Jul 2007 10:53

Could you please send me your test project, including the definition of your own database objects?
Use e-mail address provided in the Readme file.

preisl
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 25 Dec 2006 14:19
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by preisl » Sat 14 Jul 2007 20:44

Hi,

just sent the test project ...

greetings,

Martin

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Mon 16 Jul 2007 06:28

Thanks to your project I could reproduce the problem. With 65535 the sample doesn't work, but with 65534 it works. We will investigate the problem and I'll let you know the results.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Wed 18 Jul 2007 06:17

We have analyzed the problem. This is a designed behavior, except error message. It should read
Iters must be less than 65535
This is fixed in the next version.
Last edited by Alexey on Wed 18 Jul 2007 07:07, edited 1 time in total.

preisl
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 25 Dec 2006 14:19
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by preisl » Wed 18 Jul 2007 06:37

Thanks for analyzing - I think it'd be a good idea to add that limitation to the docs !

wbr,

Martin

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Wed 18 Jul 2007 07:06

Sure. You are right.

Post Reply