Multiple VS2017 instances but only one work with dotConnect

Multiple VS2017 instances but only one work with dotConnect

Postby McMlok » Mon 27 Nov 2017 12:12

Hello,

I use two instances of Visual Studio 2017 side by side (RTM and preview) But when I install dotConnect for Oracle it register only with one instance and in the second instance I cannot open edml in VS and in build custom build tool for creating EF resources is not run.

How I can register all dotConnect tools in both VS instances?

Thanks
McMlok
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue 04 Jun 2013 13:01

Re: Multiple VS2017 instances but only one work with dotConnect

Postby Shalex » Tue 28 Nov 2017 06:30

VS 2017 CTP (Preview) is not supported.
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7841
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: Multiple VS2017 instances but only one work with dotConnect

Postby McMlok » Tue 28 Nov 2017 07:43

OK, but after I Install last dotConnect 9.5.399 all tools was "unregister" from VS and "register" to Preview instance. Is there a way how to switch back to RTM?

Thanks
McMlok
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue 04 Jun 2013 13:01

Re: Multiple VS2017 instances but only one work with dotConnect

Postby Shalex » Wed 29 Nov 2017 17:18

dotConnect for Oracle uses API of VS2017 Installer. Most likely VS2017 Installer itself doesn't detect one of your VS2017 instances.

Please tell us:
1) the exact versions and editions of both your VS instances (via Help > About menu)
2) run dotConnect for Oracle installer, there should be the list of VS instances detected on your workstation on the Select Components step, specify all of them
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7841
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: Multiple VS2017 instances but only one work with dotConnect

Postby McMlok » Thu 14 Dec 2017 08:24

Hello,

sorry for delay. I have VS 15.5.1 and 15.6 Preview 1 and When I install dotConnect only one instance is shown.

Thanks
McMlok
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue 04 Jun 2013 13:01

Re: Multiple VS2017 instances but only one work with dotConnect

Postby Shalex » Thu 14 Dec 2017 19:21

McMlok wrote:When I install dotConnect only one instance is shown.
1. This instance is "15.6 Preview 1", isn't it?
2. Specify editions of both your VS2017 instances.
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7841
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: Multiple VS2017 instances but only one work with dotConnect

Postby McMlok » Fri 15 Dec 2017 09:50

1) No in dotConnect install window is only one item with name Visual Studio Enterprise 2017

2) I have two instances
- Visual Studio Enterprise 2017 15.5.1
- Visual Studio Enterprise 2017 15.6 Preview 1
McMlok
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue 04 Jun 2013 13:01

Re: Multiple VS2017 instances but only one work with dotConnect

Postby Shalex » Mon 18 Dec 2017 09:46

Please run your Visual Studio Installer (by default, "C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\Installer\vs_installer.exe"), specify the exact names and versions of VS instances listed in the Installed section.
Shalex
Devart Team
 
Posts: 7841
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Re: Multiple VS2017 instances but only one work with dotConnect

Postby McMlok » Mon 18 Dec 2017 12:39

As I said

    Visual Studio Enterprise 2017 Preview 15.6. Preview 1.0
    Visual Studio Enterprise 2017 15.5.2

Image
McMlok
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue 04 Jun 2013 13:01


Return to dotConnect for Oracle