Connection error

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
alkjsdf

Connection error

Post by alkjsdf » Tue 25 Oct 2016 14:52

I have been using your dotConnect for Oracle for a few months, just recently went live with it. This morning, though (on my dev system fortunately), a connection string that has not changed is failing with this error "Cannot obtain Oracle Client information from registry. Make sure that Oracle Client Software is installed and that the bitness of your application (x86) matches the bitness of your Oracle Client, or use the Direct mode of connecting to a server.".

The message is very clear and helpful... but it is wrong. I am already using the Direct mode, just like I have been since I first tried a trial version of your product. (This is connecting to an old Oracle system from a Windows 10 box, OCI doesn't support what I need.) The connection string I am using is "User Id=myname;Password=mypassword;Server=192.168.9.45;Direct=True;Service Name=myservicename" and I generated it with your own OracleConnectionStringBuilder as shown here.

var oracleConnectionStringBuilder = new OracleConnectionStringBuilder
{
UserId = _credentials.User,
Password = _credentials.Password,
Server = _credentials.Server,
ServiceName = _credentials.Name,
Direct = true
};
var connectionString = oracleConnectionStringBuilder.ToString();

I cannot detect anything different in my code. I have had months of success with this and now this error is appearing. Any ideas about what might be broken here?

alkjsdf

Re: Connection error

Post by alkjsdf » Tue 25 Oct 2016 16:45

To simplify the demonstration of the problem, this is the tiniest example program that shows the failure. Also I have tried rebuilding the project, starting a new project from scratch, and rebooting the machine.

Code: Select all

internal class Program
    {
        private static void Main(string[] args)
        {