Oracle PATH error - Visual Studio and creating Entity Model

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
inspectorDev

Oracle PATH error - Visual Studio and creating Entity Model

Post by inspectorDev » Tue 12 Jan 2016 17:32

Hello, I am trying to add an ADO.NET Entity Data Model within a new Visual Studio project. We use dotConnect for Oracle. The following used to work before I installed another version of Oracle Client.

I am choosing the "EF Designer From Database" option within the wizard. On the next screen I am creating a "new connection" and choosing the server name and user name and password. But when I click "test connection", I am getting the following error:

"Can not load Oracle Client. Check your PATH Environment variable and registry settings.

Does anyone know how to solve this and why this happened? I am new to Oracle and knowing some basics about how the client/server configuration works would be helpful - in addition to solving the error.

Note- this is what my path looks like from command line:

PATH=C:\oracle\product\11.2.0\client_2\bin;
C:\ProgramData\Oracle\Java\javapath;C:\oracle32\product\11.2.0\client_2;
C:\oracle32\product\11.2.0\client_2\bin;
C:\oracle12.1\product\12.1.0\client_1;
C:\oracle12.1\product\12.1.0\client_1\bin;
C:\oracle12\product\12.1.0\client_1;
C:\oracle12\product\12.1.0\client_1\bin;
C:\oracle\product\11.2.0\client_1;
C:\oracle\product\11.2.0\client_1\bin;
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Windows Live;
C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;
C:\Program Files\Dell\Dell Data Protection\Access\Advanced\Wave\Gemalto\Access Client\v5\;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Security Innovation\SI TSS\bin\;
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Live\Shared;
c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft SQL Server\100\Tools\Binn\;
c:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\100\Tools\Binn\;