OracleLoader.BufferSize guidelines?

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
Dennis Wanke
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue 11 Mar 2014 07:49

OracleLoader.BufferSize guidelines?

Post by Dennis Wanke » Tue 06 May 2014 09:05

Are there any guidelines regarding the values of OracleLoader.BufferSize property? For instance, how it affects the loading process in terms of performance and so on.

Pinturiccio
Devart Team
Posts: 2420
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Re: OracleLoader.BufferSize guidelines?

Post by Pinturiccio » Thu 08 May 2014 13:49

OracleLoader.BufferSize - influences the amount of data OracleLoader sends to the database at once. If you load big volumes of data, more than one database call may occur. The more you increase BufferSize, the better performance you get, however, the more memory the load operation will require.

For more information, please refer to http://www.devart.com/dotconnect/oracle ... rSize.html

Dennis Wanke
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue 11 Mar 2014 07:49

Re: OracleLoader.BufferSize guidelines?

Post by Dennis Wanke » Thu 08 May 2014 15:40

OK, I see. On my system, the property has a default value of 262144 (256K) - is it hard-coded or set somehow dynamically? Why such a small size is chosen as a default? Do you see any complications of setting the size to, say, 10 MB? And to 100 MB? What about 1 GB? Are you aware of any complications, e.g. with Oracle transfer protocols, or the like? Does the value affect performance linearly or is there any reasonable size limit after that no significant performance gain is more observed?

Pinturiccio
Devart Team
Posts: 2420
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Re: OracleLoader.BufferSize guidelines?

Post by Pinturiccio » Thu 15 May 2014 12:50

Yes, the BufferSize property has the default value 262144 (256K). dotConnect for Oracle supports old Oracle versions such as Oracle 8 and Oracle 7.3, so we can't change the default value for the BufferSize property. If you want to use larger BufferSize, then you have to change its value manually.

Post Reply