Custom tool 'DevartEfGenerator' failed

Custom tool 'DevartEfGenerator' failed

Postby stratdaz » Wed 21 Sep 2011 00:16

I have just upgraded to 6.50.214 and am getting errors when attempting to generate the model in either VS2010 or Entity Developer.

Instead of a *.Designer.cs file I get a *.info file containing ...

// Custom tool 'DevartEfGenerator' failed.
// - Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
//

Also this error ...

"The Type TABLE is not qualified with a namespace or alias. Only Primitive Types can be used without qualification".
stratdaz
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue 04 May 2010 00:46

Postby fni » Wed 21 Sep 2011 12:36

I'm having the same issue. I've been fighting to figure why the .Designer.cs is not getting generated.

Edit: Actually it's real bad. When I update the model from DB, when I save VS2010 gets stuck saving (I'm guessing during the generation process). I'm forced to kill VS2010.
fni
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed 27 Jan 2010 13:20

Postby stratdaz » Wed 21 Sep 2011 23:36

I bit the bullet and regenerated the model from scratch.

No small task with around 200 entities needing to be selected from a list of thousands!

Seems to be working ok apart from some interesting entity model naming on table names ending in 'H' but think that's another post!
stratdaz
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue 04 May 2010 00:46

Postby fni » Thu 22 Sep 2011 06:09

Ouch, I uninstalled 6.50 and retrograded to 6.30.
fni
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed 27 Jan 2010 13:20

Postby StanislavK » Fri 23 Sep 2011 10:53

stratdaz: Glad to see that the problem was resolved. According to the message, this problem could be caused by a complex type called 'TABLE' used for one of entity fields. If this issue occurs again, please send us the model with which it can be reproduced.

fni: Please specify how large the model, with which you encounter the problem, is. If possible, please send it to us so that we are able to reproduce the issue and investigate it in details.
StanislavK
Devart Team
 
Posts: 1710
Joined: Thu 03 Dec 2009 10:48

Postby fni » Fri 23 Sep 2011 11:06

My model is 63 entities-large. I'm afraid I cannot send it to you (live project).
The problem started after I had added table-per-hierarchy hierarchy but I'm not convinced it's the source.
fni
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed 27 Jan 2010 13:20

Postby StanislavK » Mon 26 Sep 2011 13:34

We couldn't reproduce the problem in our environment. If you encounter this issue againg, please try simplifying the model in such a way that you can send it to us, and the problem could still be reproduced on the simplified model.
StanislavK
Devart Team
 
Posts: 1710
Joined: Thu 03 Dec 2009 10:48


Return to dotConnect for Oracle