insert and update blobs

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
lclclc
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue 25 Apr 2006 14:36

insert and update blobs

Post by lclclc » Tue 25 Jan 2011 21:19

we noticed that the example included in the help oraclelob class to insert a lob does not work any more since version 5.7. It worked correctly in version 5.2. it gives the following error ORA-22275: invalid LOB locator specified.
Due to the fact we followed the example, we had to modify the code and create a stored procedure (as proposed in the blob sample) to have the job done.
Can someone tell us if there is a workaround in order to resume the old behaviour
We are using Oracle 10.2.0.4 and Devart 6.0 with VS2010

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Thu 27 Jan 2011 14:18

Do you mean this sample? It works OK in our environment with the following script (we will add it to the sample):

Code: Select all

CREATE TABLE Pictures (
  ID NUMBER(4) NOT NULL PRIMARY KEY,
  PicName VARCHAR2(50),
  Picture BLOB
)
I have tested it with Oracle Server 10.2 (with the same version of Oracle Client), dotConnect for Oracle v 6.0.86 (Direct and via Oracle Client).

Please specify:
1) the exact versions of your dotConnect for Oracle (x.xx.xx), the mode you are using provider - Direct or OCI. If OCI, also tell us the version of your Oracle Client;
2) if your code differs from our sample, send us a small test project with the corresponding DDL/DML script to reproduce the issue in our environment.

lclclc
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue 25 Apr 2006 14:36

Post by lclclc » Tue 08 Feb 2011 16:36

Dear Shalex
You gave me a good suggestion. I tried with the direct connection and it works!!!
But it does not work via Oracle Client. What did I forget to configure in the client?
The Devart version is 6.0.58 and the client is 10.2.0.1. The example is the one you mentioned in your replay

lclclc
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue 25 Apr 2006 14:36

Post by lclclc » Wed 09 Feb 2011 07:29

[quote="lclclc"]Dear Shalex
You gave me a good suggestion. I tried with the direct connection and it works!!!
But it does not work via Oracle Client. What did I forget to configure in the client?
The Devart version is 6.0.58 and the client is 10.2.0.1. The example is the one you mentioned in your reply.
WE make hundreads of queries and commands on the same db through the same Oracle client and they all work provided no blob is present

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Thu 10 Feb 2011 17:43

I have reproduced the problem with the 6.0.58 version of dotConnect for Oracle. But the 6.10.103 version is without this bug. Please try 6.10.103 and notify us about the results.

lclclc
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue 25 Apr 2006 14:36

Post by lclclc » Mon 14 Feb 2011 10:24

I thank you very much I will try asap and I will post the results

lclclc
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue 25 Apr 2006 14:36

Post by lclclc » Tue 15 Feb 2011 18:09

I made my tests and now everything seems OK with the version you suggested
thank you very much

Post Reply