Direct Connect w/ tnsnames.ora

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
jjonas
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu 13 Jan 2011 22:32

Direct Connect w/ tnsnames.ora

Post by jjonas » Thu 13 Jan 2011 23:07

Howdy,

Just downloaded a trial and skimmed through the docs, but couldn't find a way to connect directly (Direct=True) to Oracle AND specify a tnsnames.ora file in which to find the other connect information.

Is there a way to do this? Something like:

Home=C:\oracle\product\11gR2\client_32;
Direct=true;
Server=devods.world;
User Id=dispatch;
Password=***;
Pass Parameters By Name=true;

Thanks.

Jason

StanislavK
Devart Team
Posts: 1710
Joined: Thu 03 Dec 2009 10:48

Post by StanislavK » Fri 14 Jan 2011 15:30

In the Direct mode, Oracle client software is not used to connect to the Oracle server. Therefore, tnsnames.ora entries cannot be used in the connection string. Instead, the host and SID of the Oracle server should be specified:

Code: Select all

Direct=true; 
Server=[DNS name or IP of the machine where the Oracle server resides];
SID=[the SID parameter from the 'devods.world' entry in tnsnames.ora];
User Id=dispatch; 
Password=***; 
Pass Parameters By Name=true;
Please tell us if this helps.

jjonas
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu 13 Jan 2011 22:32

Post by jjonas » Fri 14 Jan 2011 17:52

It certainly answers the question. :)

Just because we choose to take advantage of connecting directly, that shouldn't preclude dotConnect from taking advantage of a tnsnames.ora file that may be on the system for other purposes/applications. Granted, the information doesn't change often, but when it does there are now at least two places to make updates rather than one.

No worries. We can certainly work around it. Thanks for the reply.

Jason

StanislavK
Devart Team
Posts: 1710
Joined: Thu 03 Dec 2009 10:48

Post by StanislavK » Mon 17 Jan 2011 13:55

Thank you for your suggestion, we will consider implementing the possibility of using tnsnames.ora entries in the Direct connection mode. We will inform you about the results here.

jjonas
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu 13 Jan 2011 22:32

Post by jjonas » Mon 17 Jan 2011 21:09

Thanks, Stanislav. Excellent customer service - even if it doesn't happen. :)

Jason

delarou
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu 07 Apr 2011 15:12

Post by delarou » Thu 18 Aug 2011 10:24

Just to note that we are also interested in this feature to take the tnsnames.ora file into account in direct mode!

Is there any update about this?

Thanks,
Christoph

Shalex
Site Admin
Posts: 9543
Joined: Thu 14 Aug 2008 12:44

Post by Shalex » Fri 19 Aug 2011 10:29

Thank you for your suggestion. We will implement this feature as soon as possible. This functionality is not available at the moment.

delarou
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu 07 Apr 2011 15:12

Re: Direct Connect w/ tnsnames.ora

Post by delarou » Tue 28 Aug 2012 15:43

Is this feature already implemented?

Pinturiccio
Devart Team
Posts: 2420
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Re: Direct Connect w/ tnsnames.ora

Post by Pinturiccio » Fri 31 Aug 2012 12:31

The feature of using tnsnames.ora entries in the Direct connection mode is not implemented yet. We are investigating the possibility to implement this feature, but we can't tell any timeframe at the moment.

delarou
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu 07 Apr 2011 15:12

Re: Direct Connect w/ tnsnames.ora

Post by delarou » Thu 28 Nov 2013 12:49

What is the status for this feature?

Pinturiccio
Devart Team
Posts: 2420
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Re: Direct Connect w/ tnsnames.ora

Post by Pinturiccio » Fri 29 Nov 2013 13:44

We are investigating the possibility to implement using tnsnames.ora entries in the Direct connection mode, but we can't tell any timeframe at the moment.

delarou
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu 07 Apr 2011 15:12

Re: Direct Connect w/ tnsnames.ora

Post by delarou » Mon 06 Oct 2014 11:06

I keep trying :D
Any timeframe for implementing this feature?

Pinturiccio
Devart Team
Posts: 2420
Joined: Wed 02 Nov 2011 09:44

Re: Direct Connect w/ tnsnames.ora

Post by Pinturiccio » Wed 08 Oct 2014 13:56

Unfortunately this feature still isn't on our to do list, and no timeframe is available.

Post Reply