Entity Framework and Tablespace

Entity Framework and Tablespace

Postby JoeRuspante » Mon 03 Jan 2011 14:53

Hi everybody.

I developed an ASP.NET MVC2 application using Entity Framework (DotConnect 6.0.70).

In my developer machine everything works good.

In my deploy machine the application can't find the tables. It gives me this error:

Code: Select all
Devart.Data.Oracle.OracleException: ORA-00942: table or view does not exist


With SqlDeveloper I can see every table I need in both machines.

The problem I think is the tablespace.

In my developer machine I use the user "test" with "test" as default tablespaces.

In my deploy machine the user is different, like the tablespaces.

In both cases the tablespace is the "default" for the user.

How can I set Entity Framework for let it work with the default tablespace?

Or, better, could be this the problem?

Thank you in advance
JoeRuspante
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon 05 Jul 2010 23:08

Postby StanislavK » Tue 04 Jan 2011 15:14

As far as I can understand, the problem you are encountering is caused by the schema name being referenced in the .edml file. This is done to handle the case of working with several schemas in a single model. To force ObjectContext to use the default schema, you can remove the 'Schema' parameter from the 'EntitySet' nodes of the .edml file.

Please tell us if this helps.
StanislavK
Devart Team
 
Posts: 1710
Joined: Thu 03 Dec 2009 10:48

Postby JoeRuspante » Tue 04 Jan 2011 21:08

Thank you a lot! It seams to work.
JoeRuspante
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon 05 Jul 2010 23:08

Postby syl74 » Thu 27 Jan 2011 13:22

Is there a way to do not have the Schema defined in the EntitySet in the SSDL content ?

If I remove it manually, then I have problem to "Update my model from database" later because entity fw doesn't match the already mapped tables with tables in the database.

Thanks a lot.
Sylvain
syl74
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue 21 Oct 2008 13:59

Postby AndreyR » Fri 28 Jan 2011 07:50

Try adding Devart Entity model instead of the Microsoft one.
They have almost identical functionality, but we have full control over metadata, so there should be no such problem on model updating.
AndreyR
Devart Team
 
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16


Return to dotConnect for Oracle