Entity Framework Not showing the connection string

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
naveen_ramesh

Entity Framework Not showing the connection string

Post by naveen_ramesh » Fri 03 Dec 2010 10:18

Once I select Oracle database and click on the next after selecting the entity framework. The connection string is empty. :shock:
No option to set the server or any other details for the database.

Am I missing something, I am very new to this.

Thanks

AndreyR
Devart Team

Post by AndreyR » Mon 06 Dec 2010 10:40

To add a Devart Entity model (or Devart LinqConnect model) right-click on the project in the Solution Explorer window, choose the Add New Item... option, select the Devart Entity (Devart LinqConnect model) model.
If you want to create a model from database, choose Database First. On the next screen you can see a window to specify the necessary credentials.
If you want to use the Model First approach, you don't need to specify any credentials before the model is created. Design your model, and then run the Update to Database wizard, it will prompt you to enter the credentials. As an alternative, you can go to Database Explorer and specify the connection information after the model is created.

naveen_ramesh

Post by naveen_ramesh » Mon 06 Dec 2010 12:40

AndreyR wrote:To add a Devart Entity model (or Devart LinqConnect model) right-click on the project in the Solution Explorer window, choose the Add New Item... option, select the Devart Entity (Devart LinqConnect model) model.
If you want to create a model from database, choose Database First. On the next screen you can see a window to specify the necessary credentials.