Dynamic Data Entities on VS2010 express

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
JoeRuspante

Dynamic Data Entities on VS2010 express

Post by JoeRuspante » Mon 05 Jul 2010 23:14

Hi.

I'm new to dotConnect for Oracle.
I'd like to use it to replace the default SQL-Server with an Oracle 10G Express edition.

I'm trying to develop a ASP .NET Dynamic Data Entities Web Applications on Visual Web Developer 2010 Express edition.

I have the dotConnect professional, but I don't have any tools on the IDE.
So I used the "Entity Developer" for generate my DataModel.

But, how can I add my model to the project for use it as DataContext? Am I missing something?

Finally... I create the DB tables for use ASP roles (InstallWebTables.sql). How can I add them for use the ASP default classes?

Thank you in advance.

Shalex
Site Admin

Post by Shalex » Wed 07 Jul 2010 13:04

1. There are some limitations of dotConnect for Oracle integration in Express Editions of Visual Studio. Please refer to http://www.devart.com/dotconnect/oracle ... ility.html. So try adding components to your toolbox manually as it is described at http://www.devart.com/dotconnect/oracle ... ation.html. Only OracleDataSource and DbLinqDataSource should be available in web projects.

2. If the Devart Entity Model and Devart LinqConnect Model templates are not available via the Project > Add New Item menu of Visual Studio (actually, Entity Developer functionality is applied to these templates), you can run Entity Developer as a separate tool via the Start > All Programs > dotConnect for Oracle menu, and save the generated model to the folder of your project. Then add the generated files of the model to your project (press the Show All Files button in Solution Explorer, and select the Include to Project option in every file context menu).