Error with dotConnect for Oracle with Oracle version 9.2.0.4

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
tiagos.nti
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 29 Apr 2010 13:36

Error with dotConnect for Oracle with Oracle version 9.2.0.4

Post by tiagos.nti » Thu 29 Apr 2010 13:53

I have problems to create a ADO.Net Entity Data Model.
I use an Oracle database and its version is 9.2.0.4.0.
When I create a new ADO.Net Entity Data Model I realize the following:
1. Add a new item in the project: ADO.Net Entity Data Model with the name of HVU.edmx;
2. I choose the option Generate from DataBase;
3. I create the connection to the database using the dotConnect for Oracle;
4. I can view and choose the tables for the generation of entities, but when it will show the tables, it does not show me any entity and ErrorList displays the following message:
"Error 4 Unable to cast object of type 'System.DBNull' to type 'System.String'. C: \ Users \ tiago.dti \ Documents \ Visual Studio 2008 \ Projects \ VUH \ VUH \ HVU.Model \ HVU.edmx 0 1 HVU.Model
".

This error is happening only in version 9 of Oracle. I have a database in version 10 and this error does not occur in version 10. I think the mistake is due to release of the database.
Can anyone help me?

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Fri 30 Apr 2010 12:58

Could you please specify the version of dotConnect for Oracle you are using?
P.S. I have removed your duplicate post.

tiagos.nti
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 29 Apr 2010 13:36

Post by tiagos.nti » Fri 30 Apr 2010 14:59

I'm using version 5.60 for Visual Studio 2008.

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Thu 06 May 2010 11:53

Could you please try to add Devart Entity Model (Add New Item...) to your project?
Its structure is almost identical to the one the Microsoft Entity model has.

tiagos.nti
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu 29 Apr 2010 13:36

Post by tiagos.nti » Wed 12 May 2010 13:10

I can add a new item without any problems. I can connect to the database and to select the tables that will be part of the model entities but Visual Studio can not generate the diagram.

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Wed 19 May 2010 12:07

You can use Devart Entity model instead of the Microsoft ADO.NET Entity Data model, Devart model has almost identical functionality.
You can update an entity by deleting it from the model surface (don't forget to delete it from the Store part of the model as well) and adding it again.
As for the Microsof Wizard troubles, we have a couple of questions:
1. Is the error reproducible even in case you are checking a single simple (one-column) table?
2. If the error is reproducible only with particular tables, could you please send us the scripts of them?

Post Reply