Generate database from model.

Generate database from model.

Postby prasongt » Mon 08 Mar 2010 04:59

i use build 5.60 Beta and got an error when i try to generate database from model.

After the connection was set, the wizard try to retrieve object from database. Error occur here "Object reference not set to ans instance of an object".

Could anyone tell me how to handle this?

Thank you,
prasongt
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 08 Mar 2010 04:26

Postby AndreyR » Tue 09 Mar 2010 10:20

Thank you for the report, we have reproduced the error.
I will let you know about the results of our investigation.
AndreyR
Devart Team
 
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Postby prasongt » Tue 09 Mar 2010 11:03

so if we buy your product now (Developer edition, Site License), will we get an upgrade when you release the complete product ?

right now we are starting new project that requires an Oracle provider for EF4.

if possible, can you provide your release (or fix) schedule for this issue (generate DB from model)?
prasongt
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 08 Mar 2010 04:26

Postby AndreyR » Wed 10 Mar 2010 15:18

If you purchase dotConnect, you get a year subscription on the new builds.
As for the timeframe, we plan to release a new build this month.
AndreyR
Devart Team
 
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Postby prasongt » Thu 11 Mar 2010 04:17

Can you confirm that this issue will be solved in the next release this month?
Because I have a plan to start implement within 1-2 weeks.
prasongt
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 08 Mar 2010 04:26

Postby AndreyR » Thu 11 Mar 2010 14:11

Yes, we have already fixed the problem.
Anyway, there is a workaround.
You can manually set the MaxLength facet for the conceptual String properties in the model. This should be enough to overcome the probelm.
AndreyR
Devart Team
 
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Postby prasongt » Sat 13 Mar 2010 05:32

Thank you for the solution. I've try the workaround. It works well without any error but the script generated is for SQL not Oracle Database.

Have i did something wrong? Does the product support this feature?
prasongt
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 08 Mar 2010 04:26

Postby AndreyR » Mon 15 Mar 2010 09:14

Please make sure that you have chosen the Devart SSDLToOracle.tt (VS) DDL Generation Template in the model properties.
AndreyR
Devart Team
 
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Postby prasongt » Tue 16 Mar 2010 04:32

Thanks AndreyR. The problem is solved. :D
prasongt
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon 08 Mar 2010 04:26

Postby AndreyR » Mon 29 Mar 2010 06:39

We have fixed this problem. Look forward to the nearest build.
AndreyR
Devart Team
 
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16


Return to dotConnect for Oracle