EDM causing VS2008 to Freeze

EDM causing VS2008 to Freeze

Postby mburton » Tue 24 Jun 2008 16:37

I cannot drag a Stored Procedure onto the EDM, nor can I drag a Table onto the EDM in VS 2008 SP1. The entire VS2008 IDE freezes when adding using Update Data Model - and anything is selected using the checkboxes - Table, Stored Procedure etc... I am using VS2008 SP1 with .NET 3.5 SP1
mburton
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue 24 Jun 2008 16:33

Table is working - Stored Procedure is not

Postby mburton » Tue 24 Jun 2008 18:59

OK - when I create a model, and add just tables - everything is fine, it seems the Stored Procedures which will not drag and drop onto the design surface are causing the issue.
If Update Data Model is now selected and SP's added - it does not do anything?
mburton
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue 24 Jun 2008 16:33

RecordSets

Postby mburton » Tue 24 Jun 2008 19:34

After looking deeper into the issue - it seems only the Stored Procedures that return RecordSets are causing the issue. The single value SP's are fine.
mburton
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue 24 Jun 2008 16:33

Postby anton.connect » Wed 25 Jun 2008 08:17

It maybe a problem with a REF CURSOR type.
REF CURSOR type is not yet supported.
We are investigating this issue now.
anton.connect
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu 19 Jun 2008 14:30

Postby lukasz » Tue 08 Jul 2008 07:16

I've got similar problem, but I cannot add any table. EDM hangs VS 2008 (after restart I've got empty model, but still can't add tables using update data model)

VS 2008 SP1
.NET FRAMEWORK 3.5 SP1
EF Beta 3
OraDirect .NET Trial 4.70.37.0
lukasz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 08 Jul 2008 07:09

Postby AndreyR » Tue 08 Jul 2008 08:04

Hello, lukasz.

Could you send us (andreyr * devart * com) your database objects' script, if possible?
Also please specify the version of your OS.
Are you sure you got Entity Framework Beta 3 with .Net Framework 3.5 SP1 beta?
Perhaps you are trying to work with an extremely large schema (hundreds of tables), then such a scenario is possible,
it is a known limitation of Microsoft EDM Wizard.

Regards, Andrey.
AndreyR
Devart Team
 
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Postby lukasz » Tue 08 Jul 2008 09:58

AndreyR wrote:Hello, lukasz.
Perhaps you are trying to work with an extremely large schema (hundreds of tables), then such a scenario is possible,
it is a known limitation of Microsoft EDM Wizard.

Regards, Andrey.


My OS is Windows XP HomeEd

I've got 335 tables :? , so I think you're right ...

thanks for reply.
lukasz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue 08 Jul 2008 07:09


Return to dotConnect for Oracle