Oracle Client

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding ADO.NET provider for Oracle
Post Reply
tvr
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri 22 Sep 2006 21:56

Oracle Client

Post by tvr » Thu 23 Aug 2007 17:53

Is Oracle Client required to run this software?

tvr
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri 22 Sep 2006 21:56

Client Server

Post by tvr » Thu 23 Aug 2007 18:32

I forgot to mention we are using OraDirect .NET Mobile 4.0.15.1.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Mon 27 Aug 2007 06:25

No, Oracle client is not to be used with OraDirect .NET Mobile.

tvr
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri 22 Sep 2006 21:56

Oracle Client

Post by tvr » Mon 27 Aug 2007 16:00

We have two different work sites getting two different results.

1st Site:
Have Oracle Client on the workstation using a regular server with the following connection:
string sConnection = "User Id=" + sServerUserId
+ ";Password=" + sServerPassword
+ ";Port=" + iPort
+ ";Server=" + sServer
+ ";Sid=" + sSid.ToUpper();

OracleConnection(sConnection)
Everything works fine.

2nd Site:
Does not have Oracle Client on the workstation using a multi-threaded server with the same connection string as above. They are getting the following error message:

Error Msg -
Header : "Unhandled Exception"
Body: Error loading user data: Network error:: Could not find resource assembly.


Does the connection need to be different, because of the multi-threaded server? Do they need to establish a DEDICATED server connection to get through the firewall.

Any idea would be greatly appreciated.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Mon 27 Aug 2007 16:26

You cannot execute more than one command on the same connection simultaneously in direct mode. You need to create new connection in each thread.

tvr
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri 22 Sep 2006 21:56

Oracle Client

Post by tvr » Mon 27 Aug 2007 18:22

I'm sorry if I was not clear. I'm not using the same connection. I talking about two totally different locations using the same software and exactly the same way.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Tue 28 Aug 2007 05:49

I understood you. I am talking about second site. You are using direct mode of OraDirect .NET on a multi-threaded server. In this case you need to open new connection for each command. When do you get the error?

tvr
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri 22 Sep 2006 21:56

Oracle Client

Post by tvr » Tue 28 Aug 2007 18:04

I have a new connection for each command. The error is happening immediately.

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Wed 29 Aug 2007 07:18

Could you provide me with the stack trace?

tvr
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri 22 Sep 2006 21:56

Oracle Client

Post by tvr » Wed 29 Aug 2007 13:51

Can you send me an example the connect string? The stack trace ??? how do we create this?

Alexey
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon 13 Mar 2006 07:43

Post by Alexey » Thu 30 Aug 2007 07:23

Here is the example of the connectiong string:

Code: Select all

User Id=scott;Password=tiger;Port=1521;Server=DB;Sid=orcl1020;

The call stack you should get along with the error message.

Post Reply